downsize

In attempting a response to my daughter’s wish for a wallhanging piece, I’ve been trying to accept that I’ve probably been too rigid in the whole “quilts are not wall art” notion, plunged in, and started a couple small works.  The first thing I see is that working smaller, after so long refusing to, is a serious shift in scale.  Sort of like the first time I tried to cook a meal as a new young wife, oh so long ago.  Coming from a large family, I made my husband and I enough food to feed eight people. It took a few more tries to learn to bring it down to a dinner for two.

So this first try at a small-scale quilt wallhanging feels awkward, but I do now want to do some others because they feel so much like sketches.  I need to loosen up.

wall1

29"x32" - fabrics include old shirts, fassett shot cotton. Darkest color is deep wine.

wall1.detail

Center medallion composed of cutoffs from a summer spread that was made with french seams using wide, pleat-like flaps.

Leave a Reply

