improv pojagi

This summer I finally started the large pojagi piece I wanted to do in lightweight fabrics, but not using the half-square pattern I thought I would originally.  This is more improvisational, and it started with some pieced scraps from earlier experiments, years ago.  Palette is still mostly cool neutrals, with a few warmish tans.  But the piecing is more similar to large traditional pojagi.  And the fabrics are a mix of light cotton and light linen, with some small pieces of vintage damask linen. So far, though, it looks a bit Arts & Crafts.  Surprising in the way the whimsical riff on a Korean wrapping cloth started looking like a Victorian crazy quilt. But now when I look again at my collection of pojagi photos, I can see that there is indeed a kind of arts&crafts-frank-lloyd-wright aspect.

early stage of first large pojagi attempt - looks very Arts&Crafts. jeez.

early stage of first large pojagi attempt - unexpectedly looks very Arts&Crafts - size at this stage is about 60x45inches

Detail of center of large pojagi piece; damask, sheer linens, open weave, and lightweight cotton

Detail of center of large pojagi piece; damask, sheer linens, open weave, and lightweight cotton

One Response to “improv pojagi”

  1. light thru the subject « texere Says:

    […] Realized as I was working that I’ve been piecing this stain quilt in a rhythm similar to the pojagi style I like.  Of course most pieced work like this will look like pojagi when held to the light.  But […]

Leave a Reply

